I know your secret.

You are not even the only one

Hi everyone,

I was wondering which cliché should I pick to open this issue. Maybe "It's been a while"? "Long time no see"? Not sure. I'll just avoid the cliché and get to the point.

How many friends or colleagues of yours are leaving their jobs? They are not the only ones. They call it the Great Resignation, and it's one of the side-effects of the pandemic. I was considering writing about it, but Codie Sanchez explained the phenomenon better than I could ever do.

Still, those who are not resigning and are still working from home, decided to go for a more convenient option: secretly start a second job, without informing their main employer. Which basically means that there are many jobs that can be done in much less time, if the employees didn't have to commute, invest time in polite small talk with more random colleagues, and attend dozens of weekly meetings.

Are we finally going to start rewarding employees for successfully doing what they are supposed to do, rather than for investing an arbitrary, not-really-productive, standard amount of hours at work?

Scroll down to find some of the best ideas and stories I came across in the past few weeks, including the reason why you are working too much, why people ignore your questions and more.

[By the way: I use an app called Refind to get exposed to content that I wouldn't otherwise find by myself. You should definitely check it out.]

Before I'll leave you to this issue's stories, let me remind you:

  • Please feel free to reach out if you want to have a chat, or if you are searching for resources to improve your work. I am always happy to make time for a coffee, virtual or IRL. Are we friends on LinkedIn yet?

  • You should join the Tea Hut, my Facebook group. It's full of shorter (and funnier) pieces of content than this e-mail, and packed with great people.

  • If you don't like what you read here, feel free to unsubscribe. You can find the link at the bottom of this e-mail. I will get a notification and remember what you did forever. If you do like what you read here though, the right thing to do is to forward it now to a couple of friends/colleagues that might enjoy it as well. Please, go ahead.

All the best!

Five links to rule them all

㊀ These are the skills needed to succeed in the post-Covid job market, based on the latest McKinsey report. A key insight? Delivering is not enough. You are also expected to manage your work in the best way.

"You are working too much" might be a classic dad/mom phrase, and they might be right. You should blame yourself, but not too much. You can blame our modern work culture for most of it.

㊂ You know when you ask a question in a meeting and an awkward silence follows? It's not necessarily because you blew their minds. Maybe you asked a bad question. You can learn how to ask better ones.

㊃ That colleague who angrily stares at you when you get a deserved praise from your boss? You should tell them to thank you. Envy can be a powerful motivation in the workplace... when it's not toxic.

I know your secret. If your secret is that you have a second job, and your main job's boss doesn't know it. It seems like you definitely aren't the only one...

🌊 UNRELATEDRich celebrities are paying hundreds of thousand of dollars to change their profile pic into a bored ape like the one below.

☕️ Here's some good stuff for the ideas-addicted like me: a group of economists thought that they figured out the economy. All of it. They were wrong. Now we get to mock them.

Oh, hi!

Is this your first time here?You should definitely join my list. Here, let me help:

Also, Tanuki Shift is my accelerated Career Chance program. You can sign-up here, or share it with that friend/colleague who are desperately searching for a way out of their job.