• Sabi Insight
  • Posts
  • Politics at work, Zoom presentations and self-doubt.

Politics at work, Zoom presentations and self-doubt.

A different kind of pandemic

Hi everyone,

We have definitely heard enough about making lemonade from lemons in the past year. Still, when a flattering amount of readers signalled me that I sent a bad link in the previous issue, I decided to take the opportunity and experiment with a different newsletter format.

First of all, the functioning link for the article "What stops talented people from making progress" is this one. If you are struggling with self-doubt and generational gaps in the workplace, this article is for you.

And now, here are the top 5 ideas I stumbled upon in the past week + 1 insight I would like to share with you.

I would love to hear your thoughts on what I include in my e-mails. Just hit reply to reach out, or if you would like to share with me a question or a dilemma I can help with. I am always happy to have a chat and to get suggestions for content to post here.

㊀ There are 7 e-mails that you should send every weekto keep your network alive and kicking.

㊁ Don’t talk about politics at work. Also, don’t make a policy that bans conversation about politics at work. Basecamp did it, and a third of the workforce left the company.A case study.

㊂ 61% of entry-level jobs require at least three years of experience. How are young professionals supposed to deal with that?College internships are not necessarily an answer.

㊃ If you didn’t love Zoom meetings, prepare for the new challenge: hybrid presentation. Colleagues on Zoom and colleagues in the room. This is how you can make those meetings more engaging.

㊄ Who’s better than millennials? Geriatric millennials.Probably the worst definition ever, but if you were born in the right years, you might be the market’s hope for bridging between different generations at work.

🌊 UNRELATED • An Italian lake drained. An old village with more than 160 homeswas hiding under it.

Humans don't like fine-tuning.Either it works, either it doesn't.9:30 AM - 19 May 2021If youdon’tlike this e-mail, I encourage you to unsubscribe.

The link is at the bottom of the e-mail. Goodbye! [Passive-aggressive smile]

If youdolike this e-mail, forward it now to a couple of friends/colleagues that might enjoy it as well. Go ahead!

Also, I share shorter (and probably also funnier) pieces of content at the Tea Hut, my Facebook group. Why don’t you join us?

Feel free to reach out on LinkedInas well, if you want. I promise I won’t use the word “humbled” in my posts, not even once.

Once again: I am about to launch my Career Change program. You can sign-up here. Why don’t you share it with that friend who really wants to leave their job but doesn’t know how to do it?